Worm Reveal New EP Details

WORM have announced their return from the Florida swamps with Bluenothing. The four-track EP was mixed and mastered by Stevie D at Soundlab with help from Hughes Deslanriers.

Rather than foolishly try to give a secondhand explanation on what to expect from the record, check out some notes from the official press release and watch the teaser below.

The A-side of Bluenothing features two tracks from the mythic Foreverglade sessions that remained encased in the phantom crypts but are no less masterly than the latter’s ultimate six tracks. Indeed, the title track “Bluenothing” was at one time to be the album closer on Foreverglade and all the crushing weight and mysterious allure that made that opus a new classic remains on these two tracks. Yet these tracks also have the added dimension of pure necromantic shred via new guitarist Wroth Septentrion (Atramentus, VoidCeremony, Chthe-ilist, Hulder-live).

The B-side reveals a different yet complementary stylistic command, one alluded to in past incarnations and now fully actualized - that of the clandestine dimensions of black metal’s unfathomable darkness and shrouded mysteries. “Invoking The Dragonmoon” is a ritual gate opening into this obscure galaxy, while “Shadowside Kingdom” denotes the arrival to the remote twilight stronghold at the edge of blackness where Phantom Slaughter’s tyrannical celestial necromancy can flourish undisturbed by mortal disquiet and axe wielder Nihilistic Manifesto crafts a thousand spires of darkly cascading melodies. Simply one of the best symphonic black metal tracks since the style's late-1990s apex.

And so, with Bluenothing, the Foreverglade-era of Worm is ceremoniously put to an end, and the next chapter in the fanatical saga opens…

20 Buck Spin will release Bluenothing on LP, CD, cassette, and all digital platforms on October 28th, the vinyl to include a huge 24x36 inch poster and standard insert. Find digital preorders HERE and watch for additional previews, physical preorders, and more to post over the weeks ahead.

Bluenothing Track Listing:

1. Bluenothing

2. Centuries of Ooze II

3. Invoking the Dragonmoon

4. Shadowside Kingdom

WORM Bluenothing Lineup:

Phantom Slaughter – vocals, guitar, bass, synth

Wroth Septentrion – guitar

Nihilistic Manifesto – guitars on “Shadowside Kingdom”

Necreon – bass on “Shadowside Kingdom”

L. Dusk – drums on “Bluenothing” and “Centuries Of Ooze II”

Charlie Koryn – drums on “Shadowside Kingdom”

Dan Craley
Gotten Out By
Dan Craley

Dan started Getting It Out back in 2018 as a stand alone podcast. He’s been writing for music websites for over a decade and finally decided to start his own. Now living in Lancaster, Pennsylvania with his wife and kids, he briefly sang for Baltimore’s Pleasant Living.

©2024 Getting It Out