Calligram Drop New Single "Ostranenie"

Today, CALLIGRAM has shared a new single, "Ostranenie", from their forthcoming album Position | Momentum. It is the third track revealed from the sophomore effort due out July 14th via Prosthetic Records.

The band comments on the song, "'Ostranenie' is a word that Russian formalists used for Defamiliarization. This is what life is all about: fighting habits, seeking desire undiluted by habits. Habits ruin everything, they make everything flat and plain. Defamiliarization is the impossible aim to experience everything like it was the first time and it's the central concepts of art, poetry and of course music. 

"The purpose of art and music is to impart the sensation of things as they are perceived and not as they are known. The technique of art is to make objects 'unfamiliar', to make forms difficult. The function of art to renew our perception. What we are familiar with we cease to see. Position | Momentum and its celebration of chaos shakes up the "familiar scene" giving a new meaning to it."

For more on the band, record, and even this specific song, be on the lookout for an upcoming episode of Getting It Out Podcast featuring guitarist Tim Desbos. Coming soon!

Pre-order Position | Momentum HERE.

Position | Momentum Tracklist:
1. Sul Dolore
2. Frantumi In Itinere
3. Eschilo
4. Tebe
5. Per Jamie
6. Ostranenie
7. Ex-Sistere
8. Seminario Dieci

Dan Craley
Gotten Out By
Dan Craley

Dan started Getting It Out back in 2018 as a stand alone podcast. He’s been writing for music websites for over a decade and finally decided to start his own. Now living in Lancaster, Pennsylvania with his wife and kids, he briefly sang for Baltimore’s Pleasant Living.

©2024 Getting It Out